Travel

How did you travel in 2010? How and/or where would you like to travel next year? (Author: Tara Hunt)

I traveled by plane, by train, by bus, by boat, by subway (and “metro” and “tube” and “trolley”,) by car, and by foot.

I didn’t travel by bike, despite buying a new helmet in June and despite my good intentions.

New Year’s Eve was spent in St. Martin. Asleep. After a day of traveling (and a 4 am wake-up call.) It was a glorious week of sun, and silver-edged waves rolling up onto the shore, and brilliant turquoise water. Croissants and baguettes. Friends, good food, relaxation, and lots and lots of books.

This year I visited Paris for the first time. My image of Paris was formed from books, and movies, and photographs. I thought of it as misty and foggy, with long hours spent at cafes. That is not what Paris looked like in August! Paris was hot, very hot. It was bright and sunny. The long hours at cafes were an attempt to relax (out of the sun) and rehydrate. But the museums were wonderful – especially Monet’s Water Lilies at the Musée de l’Orangerie – a highlight of the trip. Boat rides down the Canal Saint-Martin and the Seine were refreshing and fun. It was an all-too-brief 3 days and we barely scratched the surface.

From Paris we took the Eurostar to London, where the weather was much better – cool and rainy! (I am from Minnesota, after all.) Our first meal in London was the meal we missed in the heat of Paris – a fresh baguette and brie. The highlights of our time in London included seeing War Horse at the National Theatre and going to a BBC Prom concert.

I especially like my first visit to Fortnum and Mason where the food I didn’t buy included: “Oven Roasted Tanatula,” “BBQ Flavour Worm Crisps,” and “Giant Toasted Ants” with their “nutty bacon like taste.” I believe I would have passed these up even if they weren’t treyf!

There were other trips, visiting family and friends; going to the theatre with my sister; overnights and longer visits, but the ones I mentioned above stand out among the highlights of the past year.

How and where would I like to travel in 2011? I would like to get some use out of my still new and, as of yet, unworn bike helmet. And I’d like to go to Scotland.

About wallcough

Trying to find beauty and joy in the world around me . I am many things, among them a quilter, a knitter, and an incessant reader. There is not enough time for them all, so I jump in between them as the mood hits me. Professionally - a rabbi; a hospice chaplain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

