Making art a daily habit

While shopping on vacation midway through the summer, I came across a tempting journal, one that is visual rather than one meant for writing. I walked away from it at first. I have many journals and I haven’t had much success in using them. As with the Sketchbook Project, part of the issue for me is just beginning. I find all that blank paper intimidating. What can be important enough to commit to paper? What if I make a mistake? What if I just don’t like it? Blogging seems simple by comparison. With blogging you can change the font, rearrange the pictures, delete an entry. Computers are transient. Paper is permanent.

(Of course we’re learning that everything committed to the internet is permanent and will come back to haunt you while paper can be tossed, shredded, or burnt . . . but still . . . pixels seem somehow less real.)

(And of course digital journal requires you to find an internet connection while a “real” journal can accompany you wherever you go . . . but still . . . blogging seems easier.)

Go figure.

So, eventually I did buy the journal. “One Sketch A Day.” And it sat for over a month. I finally decided that I had to begin. I set Rosh Hashanah as my beginning point. New year – new journal. New year – new habit. “If not now,” probably never.

And it’s becoming a habit. The pictures aren’t all great, but they’re recognizable. I finally have an excuse to use the watercolor pencils and pastel pencils I’ve bought over the years. And, fortunately, I have an elderly dog who sleeps a lot. (It’s easier to draw when the subject doesn’t move.)

Now there’s no excuse. I’ve scribbled on the pages. It’s becoming a habit.

About wallcough

Trying to find beauty and joy in the world around me . I am many things, among them a quilter, a knitter, and an incessant reader. There is not enough time for them all, so I jump in between them as the mood hits me. Professionally - a rabbi; a hospice chaplain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

