Differences

Beautifully Different. Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful. (Author: Karen Walrond)

What makes me different is that I am me, not anyone else. I think of the midrash from the Talmud (Sanhedrin 38a) that says that when humans make coins, they are all stamped from the same mold – all alike. But when God makes people, created in God’s image, all of us from that mold are different. Each of us is unique and our beauty comes from that uniqueness.

My humor, my hobbies, my family, my faith, the people I love, the people I’ve lost, the people I work with and those I’ve worked with in the past, my education – both formal and informal, my experiences, my travels, the books I’ve read, the music I’ve heard, my dreams, and my imagination all combine to make me who I am. No one else has this exact combination of experiences, skills, and traits. There is no need for me to be just like someone else or someone else to be just like me. Each of us has our own role to play in the world; we couldn’t do it if we were all the same.

About wallcough

Trying to find beauty and joy in the world around me . I am many things, among them a quilter, a knitter, and an incessant reader. There is not enough time for them all, so I jump in between them as the mood hits me. Professionally - a rabbi; a hospice chaplain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

