Party

Party. What social gathering rocked your socks off in 2010? Describe the people, music, food, drink, clothes, shenanigans. (Author: Shauna Reid)

Can a cozy, low key gathering rock your socks off? If so, I’m going with my father’s 80th birthday party. No music, no fancy clothes, no shenanigans (unless you count the fact that my stepbrother and his wife managed to give my dad a gift card to his favorite local restaurant. Who knew that the restaurant had gift cards? Fancy, plastic credit card sized ones at that! I would have expected them to scribble something on the back of an envelope or fill in a photocopied form . . . I’m not sure what was funnier – the fact that they even had gift cards or the fact that they were so unexpectedly high tech. This is a restaurant where they look at you funny if you ask for fruit with your breakfast – they don’t have it – or oatmeal – ditto – or egg beaters – ditto.)

We had a small group – not even 20 – of immediate family and the friends my father sees regularly for lunch. His friends included someone he’s known since grade school, and friends from his college / early professional years.

We had a lovely five course brunch. The service was leisurely, but attentive. The food was excellent. Everyone appeared to enjoy the morning, the meal, and the companionship. But best of all, it was exactly what my dad wanted. It wasn’t big, it wasn’t a surprise, it was just a group of good friends gathering to mark a special occasion.

 

About wallcough

Trying to find beauty and joy in the world around me . I am many things, among them a quilter, a knitter, and an incessant reader. There is not enough time for them all, so I jump in between them as the mood hits me. Professionally - a rabbi; a hospice chaplain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

