11 things

What are 11 things your life doesn’t need in 2011? How will you go about eliminating them? How will getting rid of these 11 things change your life? (Author: Sam Davidson)

  1. Half-finished quilts, scarfs, and sweaters. I plan to make a commitment to regularly work on them with a goal of completing something each month.
  2. Junk mail. It piles up. I’m going to keep a box or bag right by the mail so I can immediately toss it. I’m also going to deal with the real mail so it doesn’t add to the pile.
  3. Negative people. Mostly I don’t listen. (Unless I have to, in which case I will try to help people reframe their stuff. Or look at them and contemplate how I would sketch them.)
  4. Clutter. My husband would make this # 1. I’ve begun to get rid of stuff and I’m going to do more.
  5. Shoes I don’t wear or bought because they were on sale or the right size or that just aren’t comfortable. (I would add pantyhose to this but, thankfully, I wear them so infrequently that I have pretty much gotten rid of them.)
  6. Ditto for clothes I don’t wear. For both – give away, recycle, toss!
  7. Unread email. Delete, delete, delete. And unsubscribe from emails and lists I don’t read.
  8. Photos just dumped on the computer and ignored. There are so many on-line services to make photo books. Fun, fun, fun.
  9. Worry. I like to remind myself of a phrase one of my colleagues gave me – “What’s the worst that can happen?” When I think about it, the worst is never all that bad. (And I don’t think it’s because I lack imagination. My most far-fetched scenarios usually make me laugh.)
  10. Obsessing over the paperwork I’m still finishing, the letter I haven’t written, the book I haven’t finished. I remind myself of the wise words of a former co-worker: “Don’t beat yourself up.”
  11. Lists like this.

Getting rid of all these things will lighten my life and create the space to do things I want to do, see the clothes I want to wear, and let me focus on the things that are really important.

About wallcough

Trying to find beauty and joy in the world around me . I am many things, among them a quilter, a knitter, and an incessant reader. There is not enough time for them all, so I jump in between them as the mood hits me. Professionally - a rabbi; a hospice chaplain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

