Appreciation

Appreciate: What’s the one thing you have come to appreciate most in the past year? How do you express gratitude for it? (Author: Victoria Klein)

The “thing” I appreciate more and more each year is not a thing – it’s people.

My colleagues are what I appreciate more and more over the years. I cherish my rabbinic colleagues – all the more so since I no longer work in the Jewish world. I love their facebook updates and the glimpses I get of what is happening in their lives. I laugh and learn from their blogs. The group I meet with each month in shared spiritual direction has deepened my connections with God and enriched my soul. The group I am a part of each week on the phone has helped me become much more conscious of what goes in my mouth and helped me improve my health.

I don’t get to see my colleagues often enough – their schedules and mine are hectic – so every little connection, meeting, program, or conference brings me the joy of spending time together, sweetened by the knowledge that it’s not enough time. My relationships with some colleagues go back over 30 years (how is that possible?!) while others are newer but I value them all. I appreciate their presence in my life – in person, on-line, or over the phone.

I also appreciate my colleagues in hospice. I am awed by their skills and the gifts their presence brings to so many lives. I have laughed with them, cried with them, and have grown through my connection with them. Some of my best days working in hospice are the ones where we serendipitously find ourselves in the same building. The unplanned lunches, the shared experience of a challenging patient, and the support we end up giving to each other are invaluable moments in my work weeks.

I doubt that I have expressed enough gratitude to my colleagues for their presence in my life, but I thank God for them each and every day.

About wallcough

Trying to find beauty and joy in the world around me . I am many things, among them a quilter, a knitter, and an incessant reader. There is not enough time for them all, so I jump in between them as the mood hits me. Professionally - a rabbi; a hospice chaplain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

