Beyond Aviodance

What should you have done this year but didn’t because you were too scared, worried, unsure, busy or otherwise deterred from doing? (Bonus: Will you do it?) (Author: Jake Nickell)

I didn’t get rid of enough stuff / give enough away.

Sometimes it just seems so overwhelming. The down side of living in one place for a long time is that things accumulate. Going through them takes time – some things are easy to get rid of, others carry memories and going through them requires psychic energy and time, some are just tediously time consuming, and others need to be shredded.

There’s the foolish worry – what if I get rid of this and then I need it. Well – I probably have 12 others or something that will work as well or I can find it again on the internet.

There’s the uncertainty – will I lose the memory if I get rid of the object? Am I sure I don’t want this anymore? Can I afford to donate to all these worthy causes?

Wouldn’t I rather read a book, or piece a quilt, or knit a hat? Do I really have to:

  • empty this drawer?
  • go through the closet?
  • venture into the attic?
  • spend the day in the garage?

And what if there are dead mice or other icky things in the old boxes?

Will I do it next year? I’ve already started. Three big, big boxes of clothes donated this month and another well on the way to going out (with lots of shoes in it – see 12/11.) Fabric cut into blocks or strips or squares so that it can be quilted. Several bags of books – gone. Old financial documents – shredded and gone. Recipes I want to make torn out of magazines and the magazines tossed. A box of vacation maps, business cards and whatnot put together to use in the Sketchbook Project or in making portfolios or journal covers.

And so much more to do……………….

About wallcough

Trying to find beauty and joy in the world around me . I am many things, among them a quilter, a knitter, and an incessant reader. There is not enough time for them all, so I jump in between them as the mood hits me. Professionally - a rabbi; a hospice chaplain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

