Photo

Sift through all the photos of you from the past year. Choose one that best captures you; either who you are, or who you strive to be. Find the shot of you that is worth a thousand words. Share the image, who shot it, where, and what it best reveals about you.  (Author: Tracey Clark)

I’m usually the family photographer, so there aren’t all that many to choose from. However, two came to mind immediately. I’m with my husband in both pictures. He’s a man who does not care much for pictures. One photo a year is about his limit. There are few pictures of us on vacation together. He’s usually avoiding the camera and I’m looking at sunlight and shadows, shapes and fanciful objects. So – here are 2 pictures:

June 2010

November 2010

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My sister took the first picture, my stepdaughter took the second. The first is from my stepdaughter’s wedding; the second at home at Thanksgiving. What do they say about me / why did I choose them? Both are moments where we are very present – not thinking about tomorrow or next week, just enjoying the now. And each is an expression of a specific kind of happiness. The first – the joy of special times, sacred moments, singular events. And the second – everyday happiness. They remind me to be in the moment. They remind me that happiness comes in many forms. They remind me of my blessings. They remind me of how lucky I am. And they remind me that despite petty irritations and annoyances, I really love my life and the people in it.

About wallcough

Trying to find beauty and joy in the world around me . I am many things, among them a quilter, a knitter, and an incessant reader. There is not enough time for them all, so I jump in between them as the mood hits me. Professionally - a rabbi; a hospice chaplain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

