Finished my Sketchbook Project

After much thought, dithering, angst, and the like, I finally finished my sketchbook. This was a real challenge. I decided to participate for many reasons, but it took me a long time to figure out just what that participation would look like.

I knew I wanted to use fabric. I knew the pages of the book would need replacing but the thought was somewhat intimidating and held me back for quite a while. I knew why I had chosen my theme, but wasn’t quite certain where to go with it. Ironically, after deciding to participate, I began to sketch regularly, but that was not the technique I wanted to use with this sketchbook. Here are some of the pages:

I replaced the paper with heavy interfacing. I used my own photos, printed them onto fabric, embellished them with watercolors and thread. Most pages included photo transfers, but after I did the Buzzards Bay one, I made a little Buzzards Bay quilt for the following page. It was fun. I learned a lot doing this and there are definitely some things I would do differently if I do this again.

  • I learned that with my current printer I lose color and definition when printing photos onto organza.
  • I learned how to use watercolors and colored pencils to enhance and extend fabric transfers.
  • I learned how to replace the pages in a sketchbook. (Actually, through the blogs of many other participants I learned lots of ways of overcoming the thinness of the original paper. There are many techniques I want to try and will use next time.)
  • I learned that it is ok to modify materials to make them work for you; and just because there may be 40 – 50 pages in the original sketchbook, it doesn’t mean you have to fill up that many pages.
  • Looking though it, I can see that if I do this again, I would like to alternate pages so that each photo I use is followed by an original quilt based on the photo (as I did with my Buzzards Bay photo.)
  • Even though you can go anywhere with your theme, I would give more thought beforehand about the way to work with the theme I choose.

Would I do it again? Yes. Since I have been sketching so much this fall, I signed up for the Fiction Project and plan to combine my sketches with a story. This time, I have a better idea of what I am getting into and how I will do it. In fact, I had much of the new project visualized before I had done more than choose a few pictures for the current project. I am excited about starting anew in the new year.

About wallcough

Trying to find beauty and joy in the world around me . I am many things, among them a quilter, a knitter, and an incessant reader. There is not enough time for them all, so I jump in between them as the mood hits me. Professionally - a rabbi; a hospice chaplain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Finished my Sketchbook Project

  1. This is a delightful project. Good job! I like your sketchbook!

  2. Congratulations on finishing your Sketchbook! I love that you incorporated fabric and quilting. I wish I had removed those thin pages at the start, but I am dealing with them and trying to finish my book in the next few days.

  3. wen Redmond says:

    Nice- I love it! One thing about printing on organza is to try to enhance the hue or contract to increase the color content of the original photograph before you print it. Also, when in the printer dialogue, increase the setting to finest detail. One of those should work. But since it is a fine transparent fabric, this is to be expected and not necessarily the printers fault.
    Good luck with all of your endeavors in the New Year!

    • wallcough says:

      Thank you. This will be helpful next time. After my first tries I also chose pictures with more contrast which helped, as did carefully choosing what fabrics or colors to place underneath.

Leave a Reply

