Sketching

There’s been some changes in my sketch-a-day journal. While I’m still sketching something every day, the dog features somewhat less prominently on my pages. I think that the almost daily sketches of the dog, combined with using them as the theme and art focus in my Fiction Project, have exhausted my dog drawingness.

This spring I took a 3 part course on figure drawing. I discovered that I really, really liked doing a quick sketch in permanent marker with a watercolor overlay. Then I tried mixed media drawings of charcoal, watercolor, and pastel. Finally I did some watercolors with the figure drawn over the watercolor.

This was fun! Paying attention to the shape and shadows of the dog stood me in good stead when I began to expand my drawing subjects. I wanted some more practice drawing people. Suddenly, my sketch-a-day journal became my practice medium for both figure sketches and still lifes. I’m still working on perspective and scale, but just as my dog sketches became more and more “Natasha,” my sketch-a-day work is becoming less “cartoon” and more “real.”

 

About wallcough

Trying to find beauty and joy in the world around me . I am many things, among them a quilter, a knitter, and an incessant reader. There is not enough time for them all, so I jump in between them as the mood hits me. Professionally - a rabbi; a hospice chaplain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

