A new challenge

When I signed  on to the Quiltart list, my thought was that these were creative people, doing interesting work with fiber and I wanted to be a part of that. Or perhaps it was that I was already moving outside the box of traditional quilt making and I wanted a community wider than the local quilt guild. (Although the local quilt guild is a wonderful group that has never been less than encouraging no matter what I bring for “Show and Tell.”) What I found, however, was a group that has interests wider than art quilts.

The list exposed me to new ideas, new techniques, new challenges. A posting led me to the Sketchbook Project and that led me to the Fiction Project. Somehow one of those Sketchbook Project links led me to Creative Swaps. Since I love a challenge, I couldn’t wait to sign up.

I just finished participating in my first swap: “Colour My World.” As is always the case for me, the challenge was not without its challenges. As if deciding on a color was not enough, I couldn’t decide whether to draw and collage or use fabric for my ATCs. So I compromised. Two ATCs are paper and two are fabric. My color choice was influenced by an article I read recently about new names for paint colors – names like “weekend in the country” (blueish? greenish? and besides, it is not a color, it’s a Sondheim song) and the names of some of the new colored pencils I bought for outdoor sketching (“limegrass” and “chocolate”.)

So – “Colour My World Chocolate.” I was really tempted to just sketch fancy chocolates, but ended up cutting paper and fabric to make collages. For the cardboard ATCs I used brown pastels to create a “chocolate” background. The chocolate fabric card began with a brown and gold fabric. That card includes a hand-knit “chocolate.” (The card that is clearly not chocolate is “Colour My World Confetti,” a gift for the swap hostess.Now that I’ve done one swap I am eager to do another and see where it takes me. I expect the next set of cards to be more layered and more detailed and at least equally challenging.

 

 

About wallcough

Trying to find beauty and joy in the world around me . I am many things, among them a quilter, a knitter, and an incessant reader. There is not enough time for them all, so I jump in between them as the mood hits me. Professionally - a rabbi; a hospice chaplain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

