“The Mystery Project”

This spring, while waiting for the new Sketchbook Project to begin, I participated in some of the Art House Co-op’s other projects. Today I sent my “Mystery Project” out into the world. It was exciting to wait for my mystery kit to arrive and challenging once it did. “Brick white” was my color and “If tomorrow came yesterday” was the theme.

The theme card and marker.

After a lot of thought I decided that I would use fabric, make winter white flowers and “plant” them in the crossing at the end of my street. Or in front of my local library. I played around with the idea, but it went nowhere. (But I did piece a large scrap quilt in the process.)

It was the scrap quilt that gave me the idea I finally used. I needed some extra white fabric and it came wrapped around cardboard squares. The brick white ought to show up on the cardboard, I thought. It didn’t. But I had cardboard,  markers, pastels, stickers, grommets, jump rings and a theme – that’s more than I often have when I think of making art. So I put them all together.

The finished project.

I liked it. It folded up. It moved. It gave me an idea that I may use on the cover of my next sketchbook – grommets and fold-outs.

Once it was done I struggled with whether or not to put my name and blog address on it. I decided to make the mystery a mystery. It’s signed, but you can’t make out my full name. There is a web address, but it’s the Art House Co-op Mystery Project page. The final step was to leave it somewhere public.

I chose a local public library. But I still had options. It’s not on one of the pamphlet and information tables or kiosks. It’s not with the “give-and-get” used magazines. I placed it on one of the book shelves under the new “craft,” “recycle,” and “do-it-yourself” books. It felt at home there. I hope someone finds it and takes it home.

Take me home.

About wallcough

Trying to find beauty and joy in the world around me . I am many things, among them a quilter, a knitter, and an incessant reader. There is not enough time for them all, so I jump in between them as the mood hits me. Professionally - a rabbi; a hospice chaplain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

