#BlogElul – Elul 11- Count

#BlogElul  - Elul 11- Count

“Teach us to count our days rightly,
That we may obtain a wise heart.”
~~Psalms 90.12 (JPS)

“When I’m worried and I can’t sleep
I count my blessings instead of sheep
I fall asleep counting my blessings”
~~Irving Berlin

Studies show that one way to increase our happiness, well-being, optimism, and energy is to focus on gratitude. As we move toward the Holy Days, in addition to thinking about family dinners, sermons, tickets, parking, the liturgy, getting ahead on work to compensate for the days we take off, what we would like to improve in the coming year, and more, why not add a focus on counting our blessings?

As I number my days, I want to remember to be grateful for what I have and all the blessings of the past year. I want to prepare for and enter the new year counting my blessings, not by focusing on fears and worries. Gratitude and blessing are my way of counting my days rightly. I pray that a wise heart will follow.

About wallcough

Trying to find beauty and joy in the world around me . I am many things, among them a quilter, a knitter, and an incessant reader. There is not enough time for them all, so I jump in between them as the mood hits me. Professionally - a rabbi; a hospice chaplain.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

